If you cannot see images at all on my site click here for an explanation
Index Nutrition People
First Posted Dec 21, 2008
Jan 21, 2020

Food Pyramid

Food Pyramid-New York Times, Sunday, December 21, 2008

In response to rising obesity rates, the U.S. Department of Agriculture introduced on April 19, 2005 a revised food guide pyramid called "MyPyramid." The new guide, which replaces the pyramid introduced in 1992, encourages consumers to choose foods geared to their specific calorie needs and adds a new category: regular exercise. The updated symbol includes a picture of a stick figure walking up a set of steps to emphasize physical activity.

Food groups are arranged vertically, instead of horizontally like the older model, and are represented by six different colors:

Orange - grains
Green - vegetables
Red - fruits
Yellow - oils
Blue - milk products
Purple - meats and beans

Foods from each group should be eaten daily. The wider the food group band, the more of that product you should eat, although the widths are a general guide to portion size, not an exact recommendation.

Unlike the old pyramid, which presented its recommendations in servings, the new guide uses terms such as cups and ounces. The guidelines suggest that an average person should eat three ounces of whole-grain products, two cups of fruit, and two-and-a-half cups of vegetables every day. Oils should be used sparingly.

For more information on MyPyramid visit: USDA Food Pyramid
See also: Balanced diet
US Department of Health and Human Services, US Department of Agriculture. Dietary guidelines for Americans, 2005. Washington (DC): US Department of Health and Human Services, US Department of Agriculture; 2005. 71 p.
Nicklas,TA. The 2005 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee: Developing a key message. J Am Diet Assoc. Sept 1, 2005; 105(9): 1418-24.

The material on this web site is provided for informational purposes only, and is not to be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Always check with your doctor.

Index Nutrition People